BNB mailing list

  • BNB mailing list


Michigan show goes over time, Young fined $10,000

Neil Young in Michigan

Photo Adam Graham Detroit News

The Detroit News is reporting that Neil Young went ten minutes past the venue’s curfew and was fined $10,000.

Adam Graham of the Detroit News calls Young’s show with Promise of the Real “Ragged, Raw and Curfew-Breaking.”

The Rebel Content Tour performed 23 songs Tuesday, July 14 at DTE Energy Music Center in Clarkston, Michigan.

Graham said Promise of the Real “plays like a younger, scrappier version of Young’s own Crazy Horse.”

He writes: “Young locked in with his bandmates throughout the show, jamming with them during extended breakdowns like he was 20 years younger than his 69 years. And songs such as ‘Cowgirl in the Sand’ and ‘Everybody Knows This is Nowhere’ were given new life, the years falling away as Young fell into sync with his bandmates. (Young is known to be a audio junkie, and Tuesday’s show sounded nothing short of pristine.)”

He describes Young as “ragged and lived in, his voice a haunting yowl that’s only grown more honest with age. He wears his rust well.”

“’Mother Earth (Natural Anthem),’ from 1990’s ‘Ragged Glory,’ set the tone for much of the evening. Young pumped it out alone at an organ, singing, ‘respect Mother Earth and her healing ways/ or trade away our children’s days’ in pained, ghostly tones. At the close of the song, he was shooed away by a team of fumigators in all-white coveralls, a bookend to the pair of farmers who took the stage earlier in the evening to spread seeds and water the potted flowers at the foot of the stage. (Give it up for performance art, everybody!)

“After closing the set with a rocking, foot stomping ‘Love and Only Love,’ Young and his bandmates returned after the venue’s 11 p.m. curfew for an encore of ‘Don’t Be Denied’ and ‘Roll Another Number,’ a pair of early-to-mid-70s album tracks (from ‘Time Fades Away’ and ‘Tonight’s the Night,’ respectively).

It was an adventurous way to end the night, with Young forgoing bigger hits and tossing caution to the wind, but he long ago stopped playing other peoples’ games. Tuesday night was a show for the hardcore fans, and it was a rich reward for 40 years of loyalty.

Read more at:


Neil Young
DTE Energy Music Theater, Clarkston, Michigan, USA
w/ Promise Of The Real
01. After The Gold Rush
02. Heart Of Gold
03. Long May You Run
04. Old Man
05. Mother Earth
06. Out On The Weekend
07. Unknown Legend
08. From Hank To Hendrix
09. Harvest Moon
10. Wolf Moon
11. Words
12. Bad Fog Of Loneliness
13. A Rock Star Bucks A Coffee Shop
14. People Want To Hear About Love
15. A New Day For Love
16. Cowgirl In The Sand
17. Workin’ Man
18. Big Box
19. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
20. Monsanto Years
21. Love And Only Love
22. Don’t Be Denied
23. Roll Another Number
Tour: 2015 Rebel Content Tour
Band: Promise Of The Real
Neil Young – vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, pump organ, harmonica
Lukas Nelson – electric guitar, vocals
Micah Nelson – electric guitar, electric charango, piano, vocals
Corey McCormick – bass, vocals
Anthony Logerfo – drums
Tato Melgar – percussion
Thanks Tom Hambleton at

Random Quote

some get strange, some get real; sooner or later walk on.”
by -- by Neil Young

Neil Young on Tour

  • Neil Young on Tour

Sugar Mountain setlists

Tom Hambleton provides BNB with setlists, thankfully. His website is the most comprehensive searchable archives on the Internets about anything Neil Young related setlists. Goto Sugar Mountain.

Other Neil News

  • Neil Young News

Rust Radio


HH-Radio + NY Info

  • NY-Info-Radio

Human Highway


Oh My Darling Clementine

BNB has 3595030 Guests, from the new start